Food Lust

It’s not yet 3 am and I’m awake again thanks to the sugar withdrawl induced insomnia. I’ve read this can last up to a week. 

What better way to burn time, write.

As my 20 year old son stood eating his delivered pizza, cheesy bread with spin age and brownie bites, I stood real close to get a good whiff. I stared at the pizza platter and watched how he took a large man-bite. Ah…the smell so familiar. Over the years, we’ve ordered that combo countless times. 

The smell-so familiar my other teen son came out from his “cave” and said it smells like Dominos. Oh yes… This pizzeria was a quick cheep meal for those Crazy busy Thursday nights.

I stared at his mouth fulls and the cookie or pizza or cheesy bread with spinach. 

Then I ask, “how does it taste?” 

“good” 

Good? Describe the taste. 

As he finished his pizza in a 3rd large bite, he replied “good”   Ok this is obviously a young man- not the best decription. I stood next to him inhaling the smell. Like a creepy food stalker. 

I realized I acted so lusttul around the aroma. If I were a stranger, police would be called. My voice changed and I stood very close to his plate staring, mouth watering and intoxicated by the moist stringy appearance of the cheese and crust. Wow! Even the box it came in looked good. My taste buds were turned on but I couldn’t taste not even a bite. 

I thought food addictions and emotional connections with food was taken care of a couple years ago. But, this new diet, had me acting all weird. Food lust? Is that even a thing?

This is nuts!!! I have to relearn to cook. I’ve been cooking for 21 years. And although our family has made changed to the menu for various food allergies and sensitivities, nothing by far has come close to sugar and yeast free life. I’m way over my head. 

I’ve been baking break for 10 plus years with no recipe. Throwing this and that in the mix. The basic chemistry always the same. But, there is yeast in almost everything processed. 

I’m whining, yes I know. Lucklty you can’t hear my thoughts because it’s  just angry, swearing, and frustrated in my brain.  But I can feel the Anger slowly leaving as I realized The Solution:

Solution:  I will relearn to cook and bake. So first…I found a good organized site to start,  the first one of many sites I visited that actually listed pictures (I’m very visual) Candida Diet website, plenty of good recipes and tips. 

My first Grocery list: Coconut flour, coconut flakes, stevia, quinoa, zucchini. Unfortunately the recipe calls for almond flour but I’m allergic, so here again I run into the question what next?

This week I’m hoping to successfully bake some muffins. With no sugar or grain. No grain, How does one cook with no wheat flour?

Hello grain free world, Let the new, trial and error or newlywed bride-type baking era begin. 

Following along, I promise to take pics of all my success…and for fun post my failures too.

Thanks for reading. Remember, You are never alone and always loved.